HelpingYouSellIt.com

August 20, 2008

UPS Warning

Filed under: Just Because — Tags: , , , , , , , — trudey @ 10:00 am

I have a warning for you regarding an email I received in my spam box today.

The subject stated it was from UPS.com about a shipment I sent that could not be delivered. This immediately sent up a flag for me because I do not ship through UPS and I was not expecting any shipments.

I also noticed there was an attachment to the email that was suppose to be an invoice. Generally, companies like UPS, FedEx and other similar corporate sites will refer to the package info in the email and not put it as an attachment. Plus, any spam filtered email with attachments should be a WARNING for you.

Looking closer to the To: and From: lines I noticed other discrepancies. The From: did say UPS but the email in parenthesis was a bogus id. The To: address was not mine at all but rather
some cryptic id, which is probably why the spam filter caught it.

The problem with this is, if I were in a hurry and did ship via UPS, I might have opened the attachment in order to deal with a problem before it got out of hand. Doing so could have corrupted my computer with a virus or a Trojan program that would have shut down my hard drive. This has happened to me in the past and it cost me dearly in lost files and repair fees.

Using a virus program I have on my computer I checked the attachment and sure enough, it was corrupted.

I have put a picture of the email and more information on the web for you to look at. Just go to
http://ebayexodusmachine.com/upsscam.htm.

Don’t let the url fool you, this has nothing to do with eBayExodusMachine. That is just the only active site I have right now and I needed an active web page to post this info for you.

By the way, if you ever do think you have downloaded a virus, go to http://geekstogo.com. They are a worldwide network of knowledgable people who are willing to help you for free.

Check out their Maleware Forum for how to clean your computer of hacker files you may not even know you have. And, again, it is free.

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Powered by WordPress